Core Team - Leadership & Staff

The core team makes the day to day life of the center happen. From planning and developing events to execution, evaluation, and assessment, our operational team brings the conceptual to fruition.

The core team brings a unique array of experience and assets to the simulation center.

Stephen D. Small Stephen D. Small, MD

Director UC Simulation; Associate Professor of Anesthesia & Critical Care

(773) 834-2309 ssmall@dacc.uchicago.edu

Stephen D. Small MD directs UC Simulation. He is Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care, board certified in Anesthesiology and Internal Medicine, and has been active in the fields of simulation and patient safety since 1992.

Melissa Cappaert, MA

Staff Director

(773) 834-7929  mcappaert@bsd.uchicago.edu

Melissa Cappaert works with senior administration to provide strategic leadership for the Center and serves as a liason to academic departments, professional organizations and administrative units in the University.

Robert Burgin

Assistant Director

(773) 834-7928 rburgin@bsd.uchicago.edu

Technology and lab management is a critical part of simulation. Robert manages the technical needs of all programs -from planning, designing, and implementing- as well as the maintenance and care high fidelity mannequins, task trainers, and simulation equipment. He manages all the labs with emphasis on our wetlab spaces.

Hector Toro

Technical Coordinator

(773)834-7928 htoro@bsd.uchicago.edu

Hector coordinates all technical aspects of all UC Simulation programs. He is a paramedic and certified BLS instructor.

Neal Hluska

Technical Coordinator

nhluska@bsd.uchicago.edu

Marcie Lambrix

Education Specialist

(773) 702-2862  mlambrix@bsd.uchicago.edu

Ashley Loubeau

Project Manager

(773) 702-0361  aloubeau1@bsd.uchicago.edu